Bikeability Scotland 2016 Award Winners

Posted on 11th Jan 2017

A big thank you to everyone who sent in a nomination for the 2016 Bikeability Scotland awards. As ever, the standard of submissions was exceptionally high and the debate among the members of the judging panel, heated! It is, in itself, a hugely rewarding experience, to read about the level of enthusiasm and commitment that so many of you have applied to children's cycle training.

The awards ceremony was held at Perth Concert Hall on Mon 7th November 2016, and was presented, once again, by Rhona McLeod of BBC Scotland. The winners in the two categories of award were:

PUPIL'S CHOICE - an opportunity for pupils to tell us why their instructor is the best in Scotland

Winner - Kim McCaig, Kirktonholme Primary School and Nursery Class, South Lanarkshire
Highly Commended - Sharon Forrest, Donibristle Primary School, Fife

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR - for instructors who have given up their own time to deliver Bikeability Scotland

Winner - James Edwards, Grammar Primary School, South Ayrshire
Highly Commended - Colin McAllister, Evie Community School, Orkney

Huge congratulations to the deserving winners and indeed to all nominees, and a massive thank you to the thousands of staff and volunteers who put so much time and energy into delivering Bikeability Scotland every year. In 2016 alone, your work supported 33,000 children in Scotland to learn a valuable skill that they can use throughout their lives.

Back to news