2015 Bikeability Scotland award winners announced!

Posted on 17th Nov 2015

Thank you very much to everyone who sent in a nomination for the 2015 Bikeability Scotland awards.  The judging panel had a very tough time choosing between the nominees, all of whom showed outstanding enthusiasm and commitment to children's cycle training.

The awards ceremony took place on Weds 11th November 2015, at the City Chambers in Edinburgh, presented by Rhona McLeod of BBC Scotland.  The winners in the three categories of award were:

COORDINATOR OF THE YEAR - for a local authority officer who has made a real impact on Bikeability Scotland delivery across their area
  • Winner - Joe Shaw, Stirling Council
  • Highly Commended - Colin Smith, South Lanarkshire Council
PUPIL'S CHOICE - an opportunity for pupils to tell us why their instructor is the best in Scotland
  • Winner - Jaclyn Andrews, Braidbar Primary School, East Renfrewshire
  • Highly Commended - Jan Brownlee, Blackwood Primary School, South Lanarkshire
VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR - for instructors who have given up their own time to deliver Bikeability Scotland
  • Winner - Britt Sutcliffe, Tarbolton Primary and Nursery School, South Ayrshire
  • Highly Commended - Ted Norfolk, Port William and Kirkinner Primary School, Dumfries and Galloway


Congratulations to all the winners and nominees, and a huge thank you to the thousands of staff and volunteers who put so much time and energy into delivering Bikeability Scotland every year.  Your work enables children in Scotland to learn a valuable skill that they can use throughout their lives.


Back to news