Policies, Quality Assurance and National Standards

Training policies and quality assurance

Cycling Scotland's Quality Assurance process for training is based on a supportive model and it recognises that however good training may be, there is always scope for improvement.  In 2015/16, 5% of all training being delivered by those holding Cycling Scotland instructor qualifications will be observed.  The Cycling Scotland Quality Assurance strategy can be found here, and the process aims to:

- Support those involved in delivery
- Ensure minimum standards are met
- Ensure consistency of training standards
- Maintain and raise delivery standards.

Cycling Scotland's training policies can be found here.


National Standards

Bikeability Scotland training follows the UK National Standard for cycle training. The Standard is set by the Department for Transport, in consultation with the Cycle Training Standards Board, of which Cycling Scotland and the Scottish Government are members.

Please follow the links below to view the National Standard for each level of Bikeability.

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

National Standard Instructor outcomes (equivalent to Cycle Trainer in Scotland)