Local Authority Contacts

Thank you very much for considering volunteering your time as a Bikeability Scotland instructor.  You're playing a really important role in helping the next generation to enjoy all the benefits of cycling.  If you're seeking to volunteer in a school, please see the information below for your local authority area.

If you're seeking to volunteer in an independent school or a community setting, please contact us directly at bikeability@cyclingscotland.org.

  • Aberdeen City

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Sally Duthie 01224 270990 bikeability@aberdeencity.gov.uk
    Role

    Adventure Aberdeen

  • Aberdeenshire

    Information for Volunteers

    If you would like to become an instructor, please contact your local school who will put you in touch with the Local Authority Coordinator.

  • Angus

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    John Bremner 07838 541511 john.bremner@anguscyclehub.co.uk
    Role

    Bikeability Co-ordinator

  • Clackmannanshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Joe Clark 01259 452350 jclark@clacks.gov.uk
    Role

    Active Schools

  • Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar/Western Isles

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Jenna Stewart 01851 822 783 jenste@cne-siar.gov.uk
    Role

    Active Schools Co-ordinator

  • Dumfries and Galloway

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Laura McClymont 01776 703535 laura.mcclymont@dumgal.gov.uk
    Role

    Active Schools

  • Dundee

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Grant Pettigrew 01382 435911 / 07554 661218 grant.pettigrew@leisureandculturedundee.com
    Role

    Bikeability Co-ordinator

  • East Dunbartonshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Alan Smith 0141 578 8728 alan.smith@eastdunbarton.gov.uk
    Role

    Outdoor Education Officer

  • East Lothian

    Information for Volunteers

    Please contact Martyn Pegg.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Martyn Pegg 0131 653 5217 mpegg@elcschool.org.uk
    Role

    Outdoor Education

  • East Renfrewshire

    Information for Volunteers

    We are looking for volunteers keen to assist with the Bikeability programme at schools. If you require more information, or are interested in completing a free training course, please get in touch!

    Name Phone number Email address
    Derek Whittle 07387 233681 Derek.Whittle@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk
    Role

    Bikeability Co-ordinator

  • Edinburgh

    Information for Volunteers

    If you'd like to become an instructor, please contact your local school in the first instance.

  • Falkirk

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below, and we will find a suitable volunteer opportunity for you within the Falkirk area.

    Name Phone number Email address
    George Callaghan 01324 501027 george.callaghan@falkirk.gov.uk
    Role

    Transport Planning

  • Fife

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Marta Ramage 03451 55 55 55 (ext: 44 24 63) Marta.Ramage@fife.gov.uk
    Role

    Travel Plans

  • Glasgow

    Information for Volunteers

    Please contact Baligh Shaar, or visit www.gosafeglasgow.com/bikeability

    Name Phone number Email address
    Baligh Shaar 0141 276 1416 Baligh.shaar@glasgow.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety Cycling Assistant

  • Highland

    Information for Volunteers

    The Road Safety Unit runs Cycle Training Assistant (CTA) courses throughout the year and if you would like to volunteer to deliver Bikeability at a Primary School within Highland please contact us by Tel. 01463 252923 or E-mail. Road.safety@highland.gov.uk.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Allan Bryce 01463 252923 road.safety@highland.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • Inverclyde

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Eileen Bell 01475 715985 eileen.bell@inverclyde.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • Midlothian

    Information for Volunteers

    Please contact the Active Schools Team who will advise on local training and opportunities.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Scott Montgomery 0131 561 6521 scott.montgomery@midlothian.gov.uk
    Role

    Active Schools

  • Moray

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    John McMulkin 01343 563374 active.schools@moray.gov.uk
    Role

    Active Schools

  • North Lanarkshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Rita Burns 01236 856218 burnsr@northlan.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • Orkney

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Yvonne Scott 01856 873535 yvonne.scott@orkney.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • Perth and Kinross

    Information for Volunteers

    Perth and Kinross welcome any volunteers who would like to deliver Bikeability Scotland training to school pupils. Please get in touch with Hamish Lees (contact details below), if you're interested in becoming a volunteer.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Hamish Lees 01738 459622 HLees@pkc.gov.uk
    Role

    Safer Community Warden

  • Renfrewshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Alison Nugent 0141 618 7869 alison.nugent@renfrewshire.gov.uk
    Role

    School Travel Plan Co-ordinator

  • Scottish Borders

    Information for Volunteers

    Please contact Gordon Smith for more information.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Gordon Smith 07891 413 491 / 0300 100 1800 ext 5465 gordon.smith@scotborders.gov.uk
    Role

    Outdoor Education

  • Shetland

    Information for Volunteers

    If you would like to volunteer in Shetland at your local school, please contact the school head teacher or the Road Safety Officer and we will organise for you to attend the next training day.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Mrs Elaine Skinley 01595 744560 elaine.skinley@shetland.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • South Ayrshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Bikeability Scotland, South Ayrshire Council and in particular, your child’s school, all rely on volunteers to deliver training to our future cyclists. A one day training course is all that’s needed and courses are run by the Road Safety section of the Ayrshire Roads Alliance. If you are interested in gaining this recognised qualification then please contact your school and register your interest, or contact the Road Safety Section direct on 01563 576448.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Mary Garrett 01563 576448 mary.garrett@ayrshireroadsalliance.org
    Role

    Road Safety

  • South Lanarkshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Those wishing to volunteer their time to deliver Bikeability Scotland cycle training within a school setting should initially make contact with the Head Teacher. Volunteers require to be approved and managed by each educational establishment.

  • Stirling

    Information for Volunteers

    Please contact Marianne Scott for further information about volunteering and to find out about local training courses.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Marianne Scott 07423 436803 mariannescott@cycling.scot
    Role

    Regional Development Officer

  • West Dunbartonshire

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Catherine Tonner 01389 737630 catherine.tonner@west-dunbarton.gov.uk
    Role

    Road Safety

  • West Lothian

    Information for Volunteers

    Please get in touch with the contact listed below.

    Name Phone number Email address
    Iain Richardson 01506 775 390 Iain.Richardson@westlothian.gov.uk
    Role

    Outdoor Education Instructor

Instructors

Bikeability-near-you